NSGA Senate Rules


These rules shall be binding to the members of The Honorable Student Senate of Northeastern State University (heretofore referred to as “The Senate”), the Officers of The Senate and to any non-member attending a meeting of The Senate.


The Senate shall use Robert’s Rules of Order Newly Revised, Tenth Edition as the rules of conducting business in its meetings.


When a parliamentary conflict arises in a meeting of The Senate, these rules shall take precedent over Robert’s Rules, but shall not take precedent over The Constitution of the Northeastern Student Government Association or The By-Laws of the Northeastern Student Government Association.


These rules shall supersede the rules of any Standing or Special Committee of The Senate.


When a member of The Senate wishes to present a Resolution or Bill, He shall submit the bill to the President of The Senate who shall then give the legislation to the appropriate Committee Chairman. After a recommendation on the legislation in Committee, the Committee Chairman will give the legislation to the Floor Leader who will introduce the legislation to The Senate. Upon passage of the legislation in The Senate, The President Pro Tempore shall, in accordance with the President of The Senate, sign the legislation and send it to The President of The Northeastern Student Government Association. If the President signs the legislation, it shall be considered passed.


If the President of The Northeastern Student Government Association vetoes the legislation, the President of The Senate shall resubmit it to The Senate for reconsideration. If The Senate passes the legislation with a two-thirds (2/3) majority of members present voting in the affirmative, the legislation shall be considered passed.


After a resolution passes The Senate and is signed by the President of The Northeastern Student Government Association, the resolution shall be considered the opinion of The Students of Northeastern State University and The Senate. The legislation will then be sent to the following list of people in electronic and paper form: The President of Northeastern State University, The Vice President for Administration, The Vice President for Academic Affairs, The Vice President for University Relations, The Deans of Each College, The Dean of Student Affairs and The President of The NSU Faculty Council.


The same distribution of legislation shall occur when The Senate overrides a veto from The President of the Northeastern Student Government Association as mentioned in Rule 5a.


When a piece of legislation is up for debate, any member of The Senate may yield to a non-member for the purposes of debate if a simple majority of Senators present vote in the affirmative.


There shall be three classes of membership in The Senate, The first being Tier One members, or Oversight Organizations. Next, Tier 2 Organizations or Registered Student Organizations. Finally, Tier 3 Organizations or Specialized Student Organizations.


At any regular meeting of The Senate, The Senators of Registered Student
Organizations and Oversight Organizations are required to attend; Attendance for The Senators from Specialized Student Organizations is optional.


Specialized Student Organizations can become Registered Student Organizations through an application process with the Rules Committee. Registered Student Organizations can also become Specialized Student Organizations through the same process. Oversight Organizations cannot move from tier to tier.


The Senate shall have five (5) Standing Committees. They shall be titled as follows: The Ways and Means Committee, The Internal Affairs Committee, The State Relations Committee, The Local Relations Committee and The Education Committee. The Chairs of these Committees shall be appointed by the President of The Senate and must be approved by a simple majority of Senators present.


The President of the Senate shall have the ability to create Special Committees when needed. The Chairs of these Committees shall be appointed by The President of the Senate and approved by a simple majority of Senators present.


If a senator wishes to change these rules, the same process outlined in RULE 5 shall be followed and must be approved by a two-thirds (2/3) majority of senators present.


A motion, bill or resolution may be withdrawn by its proposer at any time before voting on it shall have started, provided that the motion, bill or resolution shall not have been amended. A motion which shall have been withdrawn may be immediately reintroduced by any member.


The Senate may vote by any of these methods:

  1. In routine matters and those of minor importance, the Presiding Officer may use silent assents. The Chair shall ask if there are any objections. If he shall see none, the motion shall pass.
  2. The Presiding Officer may call for a voice vote by asking all those in favor to declare “aye” and all those opposed to declare “nay.” A voice vote shall not be official until the result is announced by the Presiding Officer.
  3. The Presiding Officer may call for a hand count or standing vote by asking all Senators to either raise their hand or stand up.
  4. A Senator may appeal the vote and ask for Division of the Assembly. The Presiding Officer shall then request all in favor to stand or raise their hand and then all opposed to do the same. The vote shall become official upon the announcement of its result by the Presiding Officer.
  5. Any Senator may move for a Roll Call Vote. This motion shall require five standing seconds for passage. Upon passage of this motion the Senate Secretary shall call the roll. Each Senator shall answer “yes,” “no,” “abstain,” or “pass.” A Senator may pass only once in the roll. Before the votes are tallied, the Presiding Officer shall ask if any Senator wishes to change his vote, at which time any Senator may change his vote. The Presiding Officer shall then tally the results and announce the vote.


The Presiding Officer shall vote only in the event of a tie.


After the Presiding officer has announced the beginning of voting, no Senator shall interrupt the voting except on a Point of Order or Point of Information in connection with the actual conduct of voting.


The Presiding Officer may rule dilatory any amendment presented which merely repeats or closely approximates a substantive amendment on which a decision has already been made.


There shall be a committee which will handle all appointments: Executive, Judicial and Legislative. This committee will be made of 12 appointed senators chosen by an approved Senator chair appointed by the President Pro Tempore and Approved by the Senate.


The Internal Affairs can automatically move any organization from Recognized to Specialized/Regulatory when having at least 5 absences in a given semester.