Institutional Review Board Members


NSU's Institutional Review Board is comprised of five faculty members (one from each college), one member representing psychology, one non-scientist, one community member and the committee chair. The Dean of Graduate Studies and Research serves as an ex officio member. Faculty representatives are appointed to the IRB for three (3) years (including the chair), on a staggered basis with replacement of one-third of the board each year. The chair must have had at least one year of experience as a member of the IRB before appointment to the chair position. Members may serve two consecutive terms. The community member is appointed on a yearly basis and may be reappointed as necessary.

Dr. Jim Ferrell
Ed.D., School Administration
NIH Certificate #1227231 08/26/2013 Term Ends:  2021 (2nd Term)

College of Education / Bagley Hall 123 (TA); BAED 165 (BA)
Northeastern State University
College of Education
600 N. Grand Ave.
Tahlequah, OK 74464 

P 918-444-3722 | F 918.456-6563  |

College of Liberal Arts
Dr. Justin McBride
Ph.D., English
NIH Certificate #| Term Ends: 2021 (1st term) 

Gregg Wadley College of Science & Health Professions
Dr. Ernst Bekkering
Ph.D., Mathematics
NIH Certificate #1896695 10/19/2015 | Term Ends: 2020 (2nd term)

College of Business and Technology
Dr. Dilene Crockett
Ph.D., Business Management
NIH Certificate # 2162067 10/12/2016 ~ Term Ends:  2019 (1st term)

College of Optometry
Dr. Jonathan Janzen
O.D. (Optometry Doctor)
NIH Certificate #1951668 1/14/2016 | Term Ends: 2020 (1st term)

College of Education
Dr. Jodi Legnon 
Ph.D., Instructional Leadership and Academic Curriculum
NIH Certificate #2173763 9/15/2016 - Term Ends:  2019 (1st term)

Department of Psychology
Dr. April Phillips
Ph.D., Social Psychology
NIH Certificate #1672461 01/29/2015 | Term Ends: 2020 (2nd term)

Dr. Ricky Wallace
D. Sc.,  Health Services Administration  
NIH Certificate #2881312, 08/16/2018 | Term Ends: 2021 (1st term)  

Community Representative
Mr. "Kip" Clifford Finnegan
M.A. in Education, Instructional Technology
NIH Certificate #2008276, 02/18/2016 | Term Ends: 2020 (renewable)

Ex Officio
Cari Keller, JD
Dean, Graduate Studies & Research

Tom Jackson, PhD
Assistant Vice President for Academic Affairs 

Alternate Members
Susan Woitte NIH Certificate #971190, 08/28/2013

Denis Vovchenko, Ph.D. NIH Certificate #369950, 10/25/2010

Eun-Jun Bang, Ph.D. NIH Certificate # 1108929, 02/05/2013